All messages from thread
Message 1 in thread
From: Steven Fisher (sdfisher@spamcop.net)
Subject: LiquidGeneration, Rackspace -- SPEWS, please!
 
View this article only
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
Date: 2004-05-08 17:53:12 PST
It seems that every month I LiquidGeneration's "newsletter." I give
them my email address to download something on a web form when I was
younger and stupider. They didn't try to confirm it, they just started
spamming it. Tried to unsubscribe several times (I guess that was
stupid, too, but I thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt) but
kept getting the "newsletter" anyway.

So every month I report it via SpamCop. And I've mentioned them here a
few times. How have they -- and all of Rackspace, for that matter -
managed to not get flagged and dumped by SPEWS? Have they got multiple
servers, and some aren't blocked (this one seems to have come through
209.61.178.115)? Because I know Rackspace has caught SPEWS' attention
before, and they certainly haven't cleaned up.

Apologies if some of this isn't clear. I'm overseas at the moment,
caught on slow and painful dailup. Spamcop report is here:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z468494077zd19788bf61ddfa2a5185b974769e3497z
Message 2 in thread
From: Greg Samson (uwizATCLUESTICKDOTORG-REMOVETHISANDEXAMPLEDOTCOM@example.com)
Subject: Re: LiquidGeneration, Rackspace -- SPEWS, please!
 
View this article only
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
Date: 2004-05-08 20:25:36 PST
Steven Fisher wrote:

> It seems that every month I LiquidGeneration's "newsletter." I give
> them my email address to download something on a web form when I was
> younger and stupider. They didn't try to confirm it, they just started
> spamming it. Tried to unsubscribe several times (I guess that was
> stupid, too, but I thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt) but
> kept getting the "newsletter" anyway.
> 
> So every month I report it via SpamCop. And I've mentioned them here a
> few times. [...snip]
> Spamcop report is here:
> http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z468494077zd19788bf61ddfa2a5185b974769e3497z

I fully support the idea that they and theirs be SPEWS'd, and/or added 
to any blacklist, really.

For quite some time I was getting LiquidGeneration's "newsletter" due to 
a forged address at my domain that someone had kindly given them without 
permission.  They blew it up into quite a battle - they insisted that 
maybe I was the owner of the address's boss, and I was The Man trying to 
Keep Him Down, or something, and they were going to keep sending it 
whether or not I gave my permission!

Try this link for the amusing dialogue:

http://groups.google.com/groups?th=24da0a30f0b4d8fe&seekm=b0sbm8%24sq3jm%241%40ID-80008.news.dfncis.de

(or http://tinyurl.com/37tlh )

And this link for the spam I received, posted to nanas:

http://groups.google.com/groups?th=1d269db5fef1735c

Lots of fun postings are also available if you just put 
"liquidgeneration" into the groups.google.com search box as well. 
Plenty of complaints, some pretty obvious shill posts, and so on, and so 
forth.

They appear to know better than to accept address submissions
ending in 'mypants.com' any more, but keep fighting the good fight!  The 
Google Groups results above will show you that you're not alone.

-- 
u w i z a t c l u e s t i c k d o t o r g
Message 3 in thread
From: Steven Fisher (sdfisher@spamcop.net)
Subject: Re: LiquidGeneration, Rackspace -- SPEWS, please!
 
View this article only
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
Date: 2004-05-09 15:33:50 PST
Greg Samson <uwizATCLUESTICKDOTORG-REMOVETHISANDEXAMPLEDOTCOM@example.com> wrote in message news:<2g5mldF4gc2mU1@uni-berlin.de>...
> Steven Fisher wrote:
> 
> > It seems that every month I LiquidGeneration's "newsletter." I give
> > them my email address to download something on a web form when I was
> > younger and stupider. They didn't try to confirm it, they just started
> > spamming it. Tried to unsubscribe several times (I guess that was
> > stupid, too, but I thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt) but
> > kept getting the "newsletter" anyway.
> > 
> > So every month I report it via SpamCop. And I've mentioned them here a
> > few times. [...snip]
> > Spamcop report is here:
> > http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z468494077zd19788bf61ddfa2a5185b974769e3497z
> 
> I fully support the idea that they and theirs be SPEWS'd, and/or added 
> to any blacklist, really.
> 
> For quite some time I was getting LiquidGeneration's "newsletter" due to 
> a forged address at my domain that someone had kindly given them without 
> permission.  They blew it up into quite a battle - they insisted that 
> maybe I was the owner of the address's boss, and I was The Man trying to 
> Keep Him Down, or something, and they were going to keep sending it 
> whether or not I gave my permission!

I'm off to read the replies, but I just thought I'd mention that I've
never receieved a reply. Just the same crap in my inbox.
Message 4 in thread
From: Greg Samson (uwizATCLUESTICKDOTORG-REMOVETHISANDEXAMPLEDOTCOM@example.com)
Subject: Re: LiquidGeneration, Rackspace -- SPEWS, please!
 
View this article only
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
Date: 2004-05-09 21:19:25 PST
Steven Fisher wrote:

> 
> I'm off to read the replies, but I just thought I'd mention that I've
> never receieved a reply. Just the same crap in my inbox.

I have to admit that I was "bitch-listing" a bit - mailing to any 
exposed address I could find at liquidgeneration.com, and also CC:'ing 
their hosting provider.  That did seem to get their attention... :)

-- 
u w i z a t c l u e s t i c k d o t o r g
Message 5 in thread
From: E-Mail Sent to this address will be added to the BlackLists (BlackList@Griffin-Technologies.net)
Subject: Re: LiquidGeneration, Rackspace -- SPEWS, please!
 
View this article only
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
Date: 2004-05-09 02:25:02 PST
Steven Fisher wrote:
<SNIP> 
> Apologies if some of this isn't clear. I'm overseas at the moment,
> caught on slow and painful dailup.

Switch to IMAP and sort the Spam at the server, slow dial-up
  is no longer painful (unless you receive a Large e-mail you
  do want to download).


-- 
E-Mail Sent to this address <BlackList@Griffin-Technologies.net>
  will be added to the BlackLists.

©2004 Google