Vocabula - spammers, who claim that their spam "is not spam, cause we provide the way to unsubscribe". Vocabula, you know what? It doesn't matter if you provide the way to unsubscribe, your home address, or the breasts size of your blown-up doll. Spam IS spam when it is Unsolicited Commercial/Bulk Email. Besides, your so-called laws have no power outside of your country. So, stay blocked! vocabula.com, [151.203.6.202], [216.129.139.45]: Access denied! === The evidence === Path: uni-berlin.de!fu-berlin.de!news.maxwell.syr.edu!feed2.news.rcn.net!rcn!dca1-feed2.news.algx.net!dca1-feed1.news.algx.net!allegiance!dca1-nnrp1.news.algx.net.POSTED!not-for-mail From: huey@interaccess.com (Gary S. Callison) Subject: Re: [EMAIL] SPAM: You have been unsubscribed Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email References: Organization: InterAccess, Co. - Chicagoland's Full Service Internet Provider Reply-To: huey@interaccess.com Lines: 79 X-Newsreader: TIN [UNIX 1.3 950824BETA PL0] Message-ID: Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 15:27:45 GMT NNTP-Posting-Host: 207.208.45.69 X-Complaints-To: abuse@algx.net X-Trace: dca1-nnrp1.news.algx.net 1056468465 207.208.45.69 (Tue, 24 Jun 2003 11:27:45 EDT) NNTP-Posting-Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 11:27:45 EDT Xref: uni-berlin.de news.admin.net-abuse.email:2012729 This is scary... Received: from pop016.verizon.net (pop016pub.verizon.net [206.46.170.173]) by chimmx01.algx.net (iPlanet Messaging Server 5.2 HotFix 1.16 (built May 14 2003)) with ESMTP id <0HGZ00AIBLVTCE@chimmx01.algx.net> for huey@interaccess.com (ORCPT huey@interaccess.com); Tue, 24 Jun 2003 08:09:30 -0500 (CDT) Received: from computer1 ([151.203.6.202]) by pop016.verizon.net (InterMail vM.5.01.05.33 201-253-122-126-133-20030313) with ESMTP id <20030624130929.ZGGQ3199.pop016.verizon.net@computer1> for ; Tue, 24 Jun 2003 08:09:29 -0500 Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 09:09:47 -0400 From: The Vocabula Review Subject: Re: [EMAIL] SPAM: You have been unsubscribed To: "Gary S. Callison" Message-id: <037901c33a51$e3be08f0$0201a8c0@computer1> Organization: The Vocabula Review MIME-version: 1.0 X-MIMEOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000 X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000 Content-type: text/plain; charset=Windows-1252 Content-transfer-encoding: 7bit X-Priority: 3 X-MSMail-priority: Normal X-Authentication-Info: Submitted using SMTP AUTH at pop016.verizon.net from [151.203.6.202] at Tue, 24 Jun 2003 08:09:29 -0500 References: Original-recipient: rfc822;huey@interaccess.com [The following text is in the "Windows-1252" character set] [Your display is set for the "US-ASCII" character set] [Some characters may be displayed incorrectly] Mr Callison Thank you for your letter. I agree with you that spam is noxious, and I myself have written scathing letters to spammers. But as I understand the new federal law (whether merely proposed or actually passed, I'm not sure) regarding spam, the Vocabula announcement cannot be called spam. I believe the law states that so long as what my email discusses is what I actually offer (in this case, on the Vocabula site) and so long as there is a way to opt out of the list, I am not sending spam, much less flouting the law. Clearly, the email annoyed you though. As I say, you are no longer on my list of writers and editors who I think might actually enjoy reading The Vocabula Review. Robert Hartwell Fiske Editor and Publisher The Vocabula Review www.vocabula.com ______________________ The Vocabula Review Only $8.95 a year www.vocabula.com/VRsubscribe.htm Earn 30 percent commission by selling Vocabula site licenses: http://www.vocabula.com/popupads/VRSellSiteLicenses.htm ______________________ The Vocabula Review 10 Grant Place Lexington, MA 02420 United States Tel: (781) 861-1515 ______________________ Two by Fiske: The Dictionary of Concise Writing (with a foreword by Richard Lederer) and The Dimwit's Dictionary (with a foreword by Joseph Epstein) are now for sale: http://www.vocabula.com/vrebooks.htm === Reply === Path: uni-berlin.de!fu-berlin.de!peer01.cox.net!cox.net!feed2.news.rcn.net!rcn !dca1-feed2.news.algx.net!dca1-feed1.news.algx.net!allegiance !dca1-nnrp1.news.algx.net.POSTED!not-for-mail From: huey@interaccess.com (Gary S. Callison) Subject: Re: [EMAIL] SPAM: You have been unsubscribed Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email References: Organization: InterAccess, Co. - Chicagoland's Full Service Internet Provider Reply-To: huey@interaccess.com Lines: 60 X-Newsreader: TIN [UNIX 1.3 950824BETA PL0] Message-ID: Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 15:29:25 GMT NNTP-Posting-Host: 207.208.45.69 X-Complaints-To: abuse@algx.net X-Trace: dca1-nnrp1.news.algx.net 1056468565 207.208.45.69 (Tue, 24 Jun 2003 11:29:25 EDT) NNTP-Posting-Date: Tue, 24 Jun 2003 11:29:25 EDT Xref: uni-berlin.de news.admin.net-abuse.email:2012730 On Tue, 24 Jun 2003, The Vocabula Review wrote: > Thank you for your letter. I agree with you that spam is noxious, and I > myself have written scathing letters to spammers. This makes the spamming that you're doing all the more disingenuous. > But as I understand the new federal law (whether merely proposed or > actually passed, I'm not sure) regarding spam, the Vocabula > announcement cannot be called spam. Spam is unsolicited bulk email, and you subscribing me without my consent (unsolicited) to your newsletter (bulk) delivered to my email address is all of those things. By doing so, you place yourself in the same category as the "MAKE PENIS FAST" spammers, which is not something I think you want to do. As an illustration of why that is: While looking to see who to complain to about your spam, I briefly browsed your site. It looks like something I may have actually been interested in, had I not been introduced to it by you stealing my time, bandwidth, and inbox space to send it to me. People are outraged about spam, and will simply refuse to do business with anyone who is prepared to treat them this way. Google on 'the Boulder Pledge'. > I believe the law states that so long as what my email discusses is > what I actually offer (in this case, on the Vocabula site) and so long > as there is a way to opt out of the list, I am not sending spam, Spam is unsolicited bulk email. None of the currently pending bills will alter that, and any antispam bill that does not address unsolicited bulk email is a bad law that addresses the wrong problem. > much less flouting the law. The law is immaterial. You sent spam from a verizon address. You have therefore violated Verizon's terms of service at , specifically Appendix A, section 3, items (a), (d), (e), (h), and (u), and section 5. Lightband does not list their terms of service on their webpage, but being downstream of Verizon, they are subject to the same terms of service as you are. It is disheartening to me that they chose to forward to you my complaint of unsolicited bulk email, rather than act on their terms of service, but I'm not terribly interested in getting your DSL cancelled or your website taken down, I'd just like you to stop spamming. You may also want to review and , as you are breaking several state laws. > Clearly, the email annoyed you though. As I say, you are no longer on my > list of writers and editors who I think might actually enjoy reading The > Vocabula Review. As I said, I may very well have enjoyed it. I'm just disappointed that you've chosen to advertise it by spamming. -- Huey === Some data === $ host vocabula.com vocabula.com has address 216.129.139.45 $ jwhois 216.129.139.45 [Querying whois.arin.net] [whois.arin.net] Kersur Technologies, Inc KERSURTECH (NET-216-129-128-0-1) 216.129.128.0 - 216.129.159.255 eInfosystems.net, Inc. EINFOSYSTEMS-NETBLK1 (NET-216-129-139-0-1) 216.129.139.0 - 216.129.139.255 # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2003-06-23 21:05 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database. $ whois vocabula.com [Querying whois.internic.net] [Redirected to whois.opensrs.net] [Querying whois.opensrs.net] [whois.opensrs.net] Registrant: Vocabula Communications Company 10 Grant Place Lexington, MA 02420 US Domain name: VOCABULA.COM Administrative Contact: Fiske, Robert info@vocabula.com 10 Grant Place Lexington, MA 02420 US 781-861-1515 Technical Contact: Morse, Christopher chris@einfosystems.net PO Box 1185 Melrose, MA 02176 US 781-620-1117 Registration Service Provider: eInfosystems.net, inc., domreg@einfosystems.net 603-654-9345 603-654-9086 (fax) http://www.einfosystems.net This company may be contacted for domain login/passwords, DNS/Nameserver changes, and general domain support questions. Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC. Record last updated on 28-Mar-2003. Record expires on 19-Jun-2004. Record Created on 19-Jun-1999. Domain servers in listed order: DEATHSTAR.KERSUR.NET 199.79.199.1 NS2.LIGHTBAND.COM 199.79.199.2 NS1.EINFOSYSTEMS.NET 216.129.139.11